CH, CH, CH, CHIA (& flax seed crackers)

I ended up on an internet downward spiral today, and stumbled upon this recipe for flax and chia seed crackers. They are vegan, gluten free and kosher! However, most importantly they are delicious and chocked full of fiber, iron, omega-3s and protein. So you know, it’s like a superfood gut punch of EPICNESS. I’ll keep this to the point, and the point being that you should probably make these. The raw ingredients can get a bit pricey, but you can get a lot of crackers (and plenty of other things) out of them.

The only other warning I have is that they take THREE HOURS to bake. Which is kind of like that time that I set out to make croissants because I was an idiot and thought, hey, I can bake bread, why not croissants? Why? Because if you decide you want to make croissants you are saying, I want croissants sometime within the next 24-48 hours, I also want to cry over 7 sticks of butter whilst realizing there are 7 sticks of butter in the recipe. But I digress…

There are two tricky things in the following recipe, one is called Za’atar which is a middle eastern condiment comprised of dried herbs, sesame seeds and spices, and it varies depending on the region. Being that I live in Brooklyn, I’m sure that I could have found it fairly easily, but I was lazy, so I decided to make (some version of) it myself. The other possibly tricky thing is the date syrup, which was sadly missing amongst all the wackadoo syrups and sweeteners at hippy grocery store. So I went ahead and made that too. Feel free to wing it with whatever syrupy sweetener you fancy, I’m sure they would be just as delicious with honey or agave, or perhaps coconut syrup (which I didn’t know was a thing until surveying the many aforementioned wackadoo syrups and sweeteners).

Here’s what you’ll need (for the crackers)

  • 1 Cup Flax Seeds
  • 3 tbsp Chia Seeds
  • 1 Cup Water
  • 3 tbsp Pumpkin Seeds
  • 3 tbsp Sunflower Seeds
  • 1½ tsp Salt (or to taste)
  • 3 tbsp Za’atar*
  • 1 tbsp date syrup**

*For the Za’atar I mortar and pestle-d toasted sesame seeds, dried thyme, dried oregano, cumin, coriander and sea salt. Having never consciously tasted za’atar I am not sure what it is really supposed to taste like, however, the flavor combination was delightful and certainly reminiscent of something I had tasted before.

** For the date syrup I took 15 medjool dates and soaked them in warm water for about 30 minutes. I then drained the water and blended them together with 1¼ cup filtered water and 1½ tsps of lemon juice. My syrup was a bit on the thicker side, but it worked really well with the recipe and I figured I could always thin it out with some water if need be in the future. Side note: date syrup is a REVELATION. Seriously, I think it changed my life a little bit. I’m fixing to put it on/in/around everything I eat from here on out.

Here’s what you’ll do:

  • Preheat oven to 200° F and line large baking sheet with parchment paper or silpat
  • Soak flax and chia seeds in water 15-20 minutes (the seeds with absorb most of the water)
  • Add rest of ingredients and mix well
  • Spread evenly on to baking sheet*** and bake for an hour and a half flip over, and bake for ANOTHER hour and a half.  (waaaaiiiyaaaating is the hardest part—Tom Petty on flax and chia seed crackers)
  • Once your three hours of baking is up, turn off the oven, and let cool completely inside
  • Break into free form pieces (or you can score the dough ahead of time if you want more uniformed crackers)

***I sprinkled a little kosher salt on top before baking because I am a salt addict.

So despite these things taking so damn long, they were well worth it, and really a generally easy recipe overall. I’m looking forward to various seeds being scattered about my desk tomorrow morning as I ravenously make my way through these crackers.

Happy crunching!

{golden flax seeds of the gods}

{golden flax seeds of the gods}

{the seeds a soakin'}

{the seeds a soakin’}

{it comes together like a lumpy dough}

{it comes together like a lumpy dough}

{try to spread it as evenly as possible, and somewhat thinly across your baking sheet}

{try to spread it as evenly as possible, and somewhat thinly across your baking sheet}

{so much crunchy, crunchy health}

{so much crunchy, crunchy health}

4 thoughts on “CH, CH, CH, CHIA (& flax seed crackers)

  1. Thank you for trying our recipe. We see that you had fun with it. We really love your creativity and how you came out with za’atar and date syrup alternatives. Awesome!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

