Let’s Talk About Suds Baby, Let’s Talk About You and Me

Sincerest apologies for falling off the face of the internets for a few months. Cristiana and I have been busy little bees. However, I have recently seen her and we have confirmed that we are still friends who do in fact make a blog together (and enjoy doing so!)

In the meantime I thought I would write a little ditty about something near and dear to my heart: Dr. Bronner’s MAGIC soap. You’ve probably seen it at the store in the “hippy soap section” near to Burt and Tom. It is recognizable by the outrageously hard to read label, that if you ever take the time to read will leave you more confused the longer you continue to read it.

{A little light reading while you shower?}

{A little light reading while you shower?}

But I digress.

Real talk: This stuff is legit.

A little background on the magic: it comes from a family owned soap company that was founded by Rabbi Emmanuel Bronner in 1948. Now if we ignore the fact that Dr. Bronner looks like a mad scientist and may or may not have written a lengthy manifesto about something he calls ALL-ONE-GOD-FAITH, the fact remains that this company epitomizes environmental sustainability. Which I don’t care how crazy you look/seem/are, I can get on board with your product. For example, Dr. Bronner’s only uses Fair Trade, organic and biodegradable ingredients, eco-friendly packaging and avoids things like parabens, phthalates, and sodium laryl sulfates.

Personally, I am a fan of the liquid castile soap, which I use straight, as well as mix in to a lot of my cleaning recipes (like the ones I use to scrub the shit outta my tub/toilet/sink/stove). The liquid castile soap is a vegetable based concoction that contains no harsh preservatives, synthetic foaming agents or thickeners. And you can use this elixir of the ALL-IN-ONE GOD on EVERYTHING. It is said to be suitable for at least 18 uses. I have found uses for at LEAST 4. However, it can be used for the following: body, hair, dishes, clothes, teeth, animals, and erm…contraceptive douche (according to older labels), among other things. Pretty much if you clean it, you can use Dr. Bronners on it. The FAQ section of their website (if you can wade through the wack) provides helpful tips on dilutions and uses.

As many of you know, I do the no-poo thing. However, sometimes a girl wants a bubble or two in their life. When I feel that urge, I use some Dr. Bronner’s. Otherwise I just use it as a daily body wash, or like I mentioned earlier, in cleaning mixtures.

I could ramble for days about this stuff, but I’ll spare your precious eyes (after all, I am sure you tried in vein to get through that entire label, you brave person you). And if any of you guys have uses for it I didn’t mention, let us know! Otherwise, give it a try! Your body and planet thank you in advance.

3 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About Suds Baby, Let’s Talk About You and Me

  1. It is also known to keep out the mice! Just by using it in the kitchen and bath and/or spraying it in the corners of any room, Mice apparently hate the smell and will stay far away.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

