Scrubbing Troubles

Whilst on a recent trip to Philly I purchased a book of lovely herbal cleaning recipes entitled “The Naturally Clean Home”. This book is chock-full o’ super easy natural cleaning recipes and I highly recommend it to anyone who is interested in ditching the heavy stuff in lieu of more natural alternatives.

Today, I decided to tackle the dreaded bathtub. I have few enemies in this life; however, one of them, I have to admit is the bathtub. And I don’t just use it to shower; I bathe, regularly, so the fact that I don’t clean it very often is both embarrassing and gross. But here’s the thing: one cannot adequately clean one’s tub, without being in the tub. And furthermore, one cannot adequately clean one’s tub without water and some sort of cleaning agent. So where does this leave one? Mostly naked and marinating in a plume of toxic chemicals. Or maybe that’s just me.

Anyway, personally I don’t like soaking tits deep in a bucket of god knows what. Also, I have a dog, and while she is a sweet, supposedly smart Border collie, she is an idiot who likes to lick EVERYTHING. So that leaves having to close the bathroom door while cleaning the tub, also not ideal.

Enter: All Natural Tub and Tile Soft Scrubber.

Here’s What You’ll Need:

  • 1 cup Baking Soda
  • ¼ cup liquid castile soap (I used Dr. Bronner’s)
  • 2 vitamin C tablets, crushed
  • 3-5 drops eucalyptus essential oil
  • Water

Here’s What You’ll Do:

  1. Combine all ingredients in bowl except for water (if you were doubling or tripling the recipe I would say use a container that can be sealed and stored, since this recipe only made enough for one application I just used a plastic half pint container).
  2. Stir together and add just enough water until a paste forms.
  3. Apply paste to the gnarly areas of your bath and sink that you are embarrassed to look at and leave to sit for a few minutes.
  4. Take off clothes and climb on in.
  5. Scrub with sponge and rinse clean.

I always like to go into these recipes with a healthy dose of skepticism, but I was truly amazed by how well it worked. Not only is my tub BLINDINGLY white, but it also smells delightful.

{the fixings}

{the fixings}

{if you don't have a mortar and pestle just put into a plastic baggie and whack liberally with rolling pin}

{if you don’t have a mortar and pestle just put into a plastic baggie and whack liberally with rolling pin}

{bubbly cleaning paste of the Gods}

{bubbly cleaning paste of the Gods}

{the sink: before}

{the sink: before}

{the sink: After}

{the sink: after}

{the tub: before}

{the tub: before}

{the tub: after}

{the tub: after}

Please note: the the lighting in my bathroom is terrible. I wish that I could adequately show a before and after in a way that BLOWS YOUR MIND HOLE as much as mine was blown. In the meantime, you will just have to take my word for it and then go forth, and clean thy tub.

Happy scrubbing.

3 thoughts on “Scrubbing Troubles

  1. Hey Ashlee! I Love your blog! I wanted to comment on this because I have an even easier solution for you. I just tried this yesterday with my tub at home, that no matter how hard I scrubbed with numerous chemicals, I couldn’t get the filth and water stains off. It only uses vinegar and baking soda. Just put the tug stopper in the tub, and pour six cups of vinegar into the tub, then fill the tub with hot water and let it soak for a few hours. Then drain it and pour baking soda over the tub, scrub the stains (you might not even need to scrub, just wipe) and it gets it amazingly clean. I kind of wish I had before and after pictures but I was skeptical so I didn’t bother. 😉 Try it, and let me know what you think!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

