Bears, Beets, Battlestar Galactica

All of Your Beeswax, now with 100% more food recipes! So Cristiana and I had a very lovely (and long) drive back to NYC from Ohio, and we talked a lot about what we wanted the blog to include. We decided that we should include some recipes every now and again, because really, treating your body right goes beyond what you put on your head and face. What goes into your mouth is equally if not, more, important.

A little background on this recipe: My dear friend Chloe is studying to become an acupuncturist, and anytime I’m home (which is unfortunately not very often), I like to prod her with questions about why my body is weird, and then I let her prod me with needles. It’s a good time. It has been determined that I have a blood deficiency. It’s fairly common in women, and it causes a whole bevy of issues. So we talked about what sorts of things I can start eating to get my blood and body back on track. I’ll spare you all of the FASCINATING science of Chinese medicine (because I could ramble on for days and still probably not do it justice), however, I highly recommend seeing an acupuncturist at some point in your life. They really can tell you a lot about your body, and especially if you are just feeling kind of in a funk, it’s good to reboot your chi every once in a while.

ANYWAY.

For blood deficiencies there are a lot of helpful things you can eat, for example: leafy greens, red meat, whole grains, etc… Chloe also mentioned that really, anything red is good for your blood. As she said in a caveman voice: “Red food good for blood”, wisdom of the ancients. So I set out to make something red. Furthermore, for people with blood deficiencies they should eat things that are warming, so I naturally thought soup. I went to the store and bought some red stuff: red cabbage and beets. I also got some leeks and had a sweet potato and some garlic lying around at home. I thought: how revolutionary! Cabbage, beet and potato soup, what a thing I have invented! Well as it happens, I did not invent this. It’s called borscht (my apologies to mother Russia for thinking that I made this up).

Now, I didn’t look up a recipe because soup is kind of one of those foolproof things that you can just sort of wing. That being said, I am typing this as it is cooking, so we will see how much of an asshole I am in about an hour.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 medium beet (peeled and cut into big chunks)
  • 1 medium sweet potato (peeled and cut into big chunks)
  • ½ of the white part of a bunch of leeks (so precise right?)
  • ½ small head of red cabbage (cut into chunks)
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • Enough stock or water to cover vegetables (I used organic beef stock)
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  • Oil
  • Crumbled goat cheese for garnish (optional)
  • A stick blender, food processor or blender

Here’s what you’ll do:

  1. Heat a bit of oil in heavy stock pot (I used a small dutch oven)
  2. Sautee leeks in oil until soft (2-3 minutes)
  3. Add cabbage, garlic, beets, potato
  4. Cover with stock
  5. Bring to boil, cover with lid and simmer until all vegetables are fork tender (about an hour, it’s ok if the beets are a little hard still, they’ll blend).
  6. Blend. Season with salt and pepper. Whisk in more stock or water to thin to desired consistency.
  7. Add crumbled goat cheese if you’d like (adds an amazing creamy finish and goat cheese and beets are a match made in heaven)
  8. Eat. Enjoy!

As I sit here and eat the fruits of my labor it is most decidedly not a failure. The sweet potato adds a nice sweetness that balances the acidity of the cabbage and beets. It is a hearty, heart-warming soup that is sure to make your mouth and blood happy. Also, don’t be alarmed if your pee is red. These things happen.

{the fixings}

{the fixings}

{sweat them leeks}

{sweat them leeks}

{I love how beets appear to have a wood grain, so lovely}

{I love how beets appear to have a wood grain, so lovely}

{just look at all those chunks!}

{just look at all those chunks!}

{the finished product, the color is ever so delightful}

{the finished product, the color is ever so delightful}

Leave a Reply

